Preapproval Process for the VMA Seismic Qualification Program
for Equipment Manufacturers

Preapproval of Special Seismic Certification by The VMC Group's engineering services division, is a Seismic Qualification Program for equipment manufacturers. Products that successfully complete this preapproval process will receive a Special Seismic Certification VMA Number as a 'Certificate of Compliance' that after a Design Earthquake the Designated Seismic System shall maintain structural integrity and functionality.

The VMA scope is limited to components that require Special Seismic Certification in accordance with the IBC® (International Building Code®) Chapters 16 & 17, ASCE7-10/16 Section 29.5 or ASCE7-05 Section 29.4 and ICC-ES AC156 or components that require Special Seismic Certification.

All approved VMAs will be posted on the home page of this site for engineers and the general public to reference as they seek to identify components currently in compliance.

Download the IBC® Certification Preapproval Guide & Commonly Asked Questions for more detailed information about VMA certification, including:

Special Seismic Certification

  • Minimum requirements for certification
  • Unit test requirements
  • Shake table testing information
  • Test facility and test reporting requirements
  • Submittal requirements and information
  • Answers to most frequently asked questions
  • And more valuable information

To request an application form, visit VMA Certification Application.